Off Air

We'll be back in the Autumn Term!

A Farewell from your Station Manager 2016-2017

By | Published March 13, 2017

Burn FM is the best place to grow confidence, meet amazing people and develop as a person. There is something for everyone in this society, whether you want to write, produce, present or create. This year we have achieved so much and improved our society beyond anyones expectations and despite limits which impeded us.

On Saturday 11th March at The Burn Awards 2017 our society came together from the past 20 years and celebrated the work of our members and how far we have come as a group. I want to give a massive congratulations to the winners of the awards as well as the nominees, all were very well-deserved.

The winners were as follows:

Arts Team Member of the Year – Ella Wright

Sports Team Member of the Year – Morgan Roberts

Music Team Member of the Year – Matt Sellars

Production Team Member of the Year – Aaron Cooper

News Team Member of the Year – Aaron Pardoe-Davies

Marketing Team Member of the Year – Brittany Holder

Best Newcomer – Rhiannon Miller

Best Burn Breakfast Show – UOBreakfast Club

Best Mainstream Show – Baker and Brooks

Best Specialist Show – Identity

Show of the Year – Back to the Soundtrack

The Alfie Thompson Award (For 3 or more years of service) – Calum Ridyard (Head of Tech)

Order of the BurnFMpire – Zoe Head (Head of Arts)

You should all feel massively proud of your achievement, there was a lot of talent this year but you stood out and went the extra mile.

Following The Burn Awards it is now time to say goodbye to the committee of 2016-2017. Some of us have been part of Burn for our whole University experience and so will be very sad to leave. But there is so much more to come for this society and station, with a brand new committee which is full of committed, talented and enthusiastic people. With the new update appearing in the near future, Burn FM will be reaching all new heights!

It has been my honour to lead such a wonderful society and be a part of this amazing thing which is Burn FM, and it will always remain the best part of my University experience.

Thank you from myself, and the whole committee 2016-2017, and good luck to the committee next year!


Outgoing Committee 2016-2017


Incoming Committee 2017-2018